So, while it is a fact that many aspects of Michigan`s gun laws can be described as confusing and perhaps even convoluted, here are the simplest facts about owning and carrying firearms in Michigan: 17. At the age of 18 or older, it is legal to purchase a pistol with a license to purchase from a private seller, at the age of 21, it is legal to purchase a firearm from a state-licensed dealer (FFL). A purchase permit is not required to purchase a long gun (a firearm over 26 inches long) in Michigan. Under state law, a long gun can be purchased by anyone 18 years of age or older who is not subject to restrictions based on criminal record, mental health or other disqualifying factors. A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a long gun from a federal dealer or private seller under Michigan law. A pistol may be seized immediately if the CPL licence holder carries a pistol hidden in a “no-firearm” area. Open carrying with a CPL in state-defined “no-gun” zones is legal. Please see Michigan AG Statement No. 7097 and Michigan State Police Legal Update #86. But wait, there`s more: Michigan schools are allowed to set their own rules for guns.
The Michigan Court of Appeals ruled that school districts can ban guns from their buildings and require anyone with a gun to leave the building. Trespassing charges may be prosecuted if the person does not leave school upon request. “State law makes it legal for a non-Michigan resident with a valid CPL issued by his or her state of residence to carry a hidden weapon in Michigan as long as the weapon is carried in accordance with the restrictions that appear on the permit. Persons with out-of-state CPLs are subject to the laws of Michigan that apply to CPL holders in Michigan. Similar to illegal shotguns, short-barreled rifles are defined as follows: Michigan Penal Code, Chapter 750, Section 222 lists the following weapons as illegal to possess and use in the state and includes definitions for each. There are few places where open porting is expressly prohibited by federal or state laws. Unloading a firearm remains illegal in many cities and chartered townships (and such an ordinance is not prohibited by state law).  In addition, there are laws governing how firearms may be transported in motor vehicles that must be complied with. According to its express wording, the criminal prohibition laid down in Article 227(2) does not apply to a person authorised to carry a pistol, provided that the pistol is carried in a manner or place compatible with any restriction of that licence. This conclusion is also supported by Section 425c(2) of the Hidden Pistol Licensing Act, MCL 28.425c(2), which expressly authorizes a concealed pistol licensee to “transport a pistol in a vehicle, whether hidden or not, anywhere in that State.” In addition, paragraph 231a(1)(a) of the Criminal Code, MCL 750.231a(1)(a), provides that the prohibition against carrying a concealed pistol in a motor vehicle does not apply to a person holding a valid licence to carry a concealed pistol, provided that the pistol is carried in accordance with the restrictions set out in the licence. A person who does not hold a concealed pistol licence must either store the pistol in a box that can be locked and securely stored in the trunk out of reach of the weapon or, however, if the motor vehicle does not have a trunk, then the pistol must be safely stored in a box specially designed to carry a firearm.
in which can be closed in the current view. or with its specified holster unloaded with the gun itself separated in the current view and the magazine, with one or both locked in the glove compartment and/or farthest on the rear seat out of arm reach. Michigan does not require a permit to purchase long guns, and the age for purchase is equivalent to the federal law of 18+. Michigan has no additional purchase restrictions. CPL holder: A purchase license is not required for individuals with a valid concealed pistol permit from Michigan, even if it was purchased from a private seller. However, a person holding a valid concealed pistol license from Michigan must complete a pistol sales record when purchasing or purchasing a pistol (www.michigan.gov/documents/msp/ri-060_523727_7.pdf). From 11. January 2021: Michigan Commission votes to ban open carrying of firearms in the Capitol building Shotguns are defined as “short-term” if they: The aforementioned bill, passed by the Michigan Senate in November 2017, would have struck down the existing law and banned open carrying in no-gun zones such as schools.
but would have allowed the secret port. The proposal would also prevent school districts from banning concealed weapons on school property. Parliament is currently considering the legislation. Although Michigan`s gun laws do not criminalize the possession of semi-automatic weapons, it is illegal to convert a semi-automatic weapon to a fully automatic firearm. It is also illegal to sell the parts needed to complete this conversion. If you are at least 18 years old, it is legal to buy a pistol with a purchase license from a private seller. At the age of 21, it is legal to purchase a firearm from a government-licensed dealer (FFL). A purchase permit is not required to purchase a long gun — a firearm over 26 inches long — in Michigan. Michigan`s concealed carrying law is “shall be issued,” meaning anyone 21 years of age or older can obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon as long as possession of a firearm is not prohibited, not convicted within a period of 3 or 8 years, depending on the charge. and has completed state-approved firearms training. Holders of a secret pistol licence (CPL) do not need to obtain a licence to purchase a pistol. However, you must comply with the registration requirement (proof of sale of gun purchase).
Under Michigan law, carrying a concealed weapon under a CPL constitutes tacit authorization for chemical testing for illegal drugs or alcohol. And it is strictly forbidden for anyone with a hidden gun permit to carry a firearm under the influence of drugs or alcohol. While it is not legal for someone to carry a hidden gun in a Michigan school, the law does not prohibit a person with a hidden firearms license (FPC) from carrying a firearm outdoors in a school. That is, if you have a permit to carry a hidden weapon, you are allowed to carry it on your hip to a school, but it must be in sight. Note: State laws can always change through the passage of new laws, decisions in higher courts (including federal decisions), voting initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most up-to-date information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to review the state laws you are seeking. Owning an illegal firearm in Michigan is a crime that can be published up to: There are policies with exceptions on exceptions, laws on different types of firearms, conflicting laws on where guns can and cannot be carried, and there have even been bills that, If they had been adopted, would have officially allowed people to: legally carry weapons hidden in schools. Churches and other unarmed areas. We understand – it can be confusing to track what you can and can`t own or carry in Michigan when it comes to guns. But it`s worth informing when it comes to your rights.
So if you`ve been accused of owning an illegal gun or carrying a weapon that was forbidden to you, call The Kronzek Firm immediately and make sure your future is in the hands of someone who knows exactly what they`re doing. And that`s us. Call us now at 866-766-5245 and arrange your free consultation with one of our aggressive and persistent criminal defence lawyers. We have been a lead lawyer for the NRA for 20 years. You can reach us by phone at 1 866 7NoJail. 5. You are not subject to the following provisions. A prescription that requires involuntary hospitalization or alternative treatment.