In Montana, your motorcycle`s headlights should be on at all times while riding – day and night. Keeping your headlights on can improve your visibility for other drivers. Motorcycles can be easy to miss, and your headlights provide an extra measure of safety to prevent an accident. After passing your roadside test or an approved safety course, you can pay an additional fee and get your Montana motorcycle license. Regardless of your age, you need to prove that you know how to ride a motorcycle safely with few to no mistakes. Learning the basics through a motorcycle training course, reading the motorcycle manual, and passing written and road exams will help you do just that. Your passenger must face forward, with one leg suspended on both sides. If your passenger is under the age of 18, they must wear a motorcycle helmet approved by the Montana Department of Justice and the Department of Transportation. In Montana, motorcycle license restrictions only apply to supervised driving. There are two types of motorcycle helmets you should look for to maximize functionality and meet the requirements of the Montana Department of Justice and Department of Transportation: three-quarter helmets and full-face helmets. Your motorcycle must be equipped with the right equipment to be allowed to travel on the road.
These requirements are as follows: To help you memorize guidelines on what you need in Montana motorcycle insurance, you can check out the section in Montana Code Commented. If you apply for a Montana motorcycle learning permit, you will have to pay a $5.00 fee Each state has unique helmet laws. Montana`s helmet law states that motorcyclists under the age of 18 must wear a helmet when driving. If you are 18 years of age or older, wearing a helmet is optional in Montana. If you are moving to Montana from another state and already have your motorcycle license, you must transfer your license within 60 days of establishing your residence. Your local MVD location may require additional testing, so refresh traffic rules and motorcycle safety in Montana as if you were taking a driving or motorcycle test for the first time. If you have problems removing noise from your motorcycle`s exhaust system, you are allowed to drive on the side of the road. However, this is only possible if it is equipped with a spark arrestor and the noise limit has not yet exceeded 96 decibels. Your responsibilities as a motorcyclist aren`t limited to how you behave on Montana`s roads. You are also responsible for maintaining the functions of your motorcycle.
If there are signs that the brakes or any of your motorcycle`s key functions are not working properly, you should not take the Montana motorcycle license test. While the minimum age to apply for a Montana motorcycle visa is 16, it is also possible to obtain one at 15 if you can demonstrate a driver training course approved by the Montana Department of Justice and the Superintendent of Public Instruction. The motorcycle supplement addresses the legal requirements for riding a motorcycle in the state of Montana. A motorcycle endorsement on a valid Montana driver`s license is required to drive a motorcycle, scooter, or other motorized bicycle on a public road or highway in the state. To get motorcycle confirmation, you need to: A motorcycle safety course is a great way to familiarize yourself with the basics of riding, learn the most important laws about motorcycling, and become a safer and smarter driver. No driving experience is required to take a course. To check the rules for wearing a motorcycle helmet in Montana, you can read this section of the annotated Montana Code. If you have never driven a motorcycle before or if you are a minor, you must apply for a motorcycle learning permit. Although you are allowed to practice on a motorcycle, there are many restrictions for you that are meant for your own safety. If your passenger does not follow the motorcycle`s safety instructions, you will be held responsible for their provocative behaviour. As stated in the Montana Code annotated ¢§ 61-9-418, all Montana motorcycles must have an exhaust muffler when traveling on roads and highways. The exhaust silencer must be kept in good condition without signs of damage and constantly maintained.
Once you have passed the written exam, you will receive your motorcycle learning permit, which is valid for one year. You can drive under authorized supervision to prepare for your road test. Understanding Montana`s motorcycle laws is important if you want to ride in the state at all times. If you do not follow these laws, you could be vulnerable to a dangerous accident. If you don`t abide by these laws, you can at least get a ticket and license ban that will prevent you from enjoying your favorite pastime. You should use a suitable muffler with your motorcycle to suppress the noise of the motorcycle`s engine. In addition, Montana has a noise limit of 96 decibels at 20 inches from the exhaust. Additional noise restrictions may apply in your area.
You will need valid insurance and registration for your motorcycle in order to complete the roadside check. Your motorcycle also requires: Q: Does a person who has successfully completed a motorcycle safety course taught by Montana Motorcycle Rider Safety need to pass the tests to get motorcycle confirmation? Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and basic motorcycle training programs. And if you ever need a motorcycle accident attorney, contact Law Tigers at 1-888-863-7216 to schedule a free case evaluation. Q: Will the driving aptitude test be cancelled by other states after passing a Montana motorcycle safety course? Once you have completed the appropriate steps, you will need to keep your motorcycle confirmation in the state of Montana.